Baby (I don’t know you, but want to sound like we belong together)
You’re so hot I already bought you a drink
I already imagined our life together, so now you owe it to me
Just because I’m a stranger doesn’t mean your friends come first
You can’t leave in the middle of the dance, the drink,
The beginning of the life in my mind

You can’t leave before I kiss you
(After all, I bought you that drink)
Why’d you have to leave before I got to kiss you,
It would have been the best kiss,
Girl (even though you’re a woman, I’m gonna call you “girl”
so you feel obligated to listen to my condescension),
How can you leave in the middle of my wet dream, memory to be?

I bought you a drink so you’d dance with me all night,
I want every eye on you and me,
I’ll tell you we look in love, so in love, yeah…
But I just want them to think we’ve fucked.
Give me your number, woman whom I’ve never met,
I don’t need your name to hang out (I don’t really wanna hang)
But now I’m pissed because you left me standing
Under these lights right here in the dark

In the middle of a dance floor (how rude!)
In the middle of an old school country song (all about how you owe me that kiss)
Right when I was just about to lean on in (remember the drink I bought?)
What gives you the right to leave (you drank the drink, didn’t you)?
Baby, in the neon glow of a cheap country bar,
You robbed me of the night I imagined,
And, Girl, it ain’t right, no,
How you gonna leave me right in the middle of my paid time?

Yeah, it’s like you walked right out in the middle of a movie
(that you didn’t want to see)
Tore the back half out of a book
(you never wanted to read)
And no, you’ll never know, girl, what you did to me
(because you owed me the rest of the night when I bought you that drink)
It ain’t right saying goodbye
(to someone who never said hi)

In the middle of a dance floor all alone (why’d you leave me all alone?)
In the middle of what could’ve been our song (if you maybe knew my name)
Right when I was just about to lean on in (give you the kiss you must’ve been missin’)
Why’d you have to go with your friends?
Baby (I have to call you baby since I never learned your name)
It shoulda, coulda, woulda been the night of our lives (if you’d given me that booty)
But, girl, it ain’t right, no (if a guy buys a drink, you gotta get him off)
How you gonna leave me right in the middle of a memory?
In the middle of my fantasy encounter?
In the middle of me getting you in bed?

Leave a Reply

